Jaffna release surreal new video for ‘Roots’ alongside LP Odyssey

      Image credit: Iviu Torre

After the successful release of a slew of singles, deep house duo Jaffna have released a video for ‘Roots’ alongside the release of their album Odyssey.

Stream / Download Odyssey LP 

The Parisian duo is Bravin (a classically trained pianist from Sri Lanka) and Stan (a French chef) who have been creating music together since 2014.

The release is accompanied by an animated video for ‘Roots’, directed and created by Pauline Bricout. The video is minimalistic in nature, featuring beautiful illustrations that pulse and change along with the soundtrack, perhaps subliminally speaking of the collective human condition.

Director Pauline Bricout tells us about the creation of the Roots’ video: “The meeting with Jaffna began with the animation of the track ‘Oslo’. The request can be summed up in one sentence: “Draw me a man”. It was then that two characters were born, like Bravin and Stan. “Roots” story follows on from this first collab. Two complementary characters begin their dreamlike parallel journeys, during which they contaminate the world with poetry. In a dazzling finale, these two entities merge to form a whole: Jaffna. My credo: generate emotion. Always narrative, surreal and aesthetic, the clips I make have a recurring central theme: Destiny. Systematically living between confinement and freedom, the protagonists are irremediably drawn to their bittersweet spells.”

The LP itself bears testament to the duo’s love of travel, and traverses the metaphorical musical landscape capturing snapshots as it goes. Odyssey is a lush electronic offering with enough variety to please listeners both on and off the dance floor.

Bravin gives us some insight into the LP: “For ‘Roots’, we created a fast-paced energetic track with hints of tribal percussion in the background. We were motivated to try something different and were inspired by the idea of moving forward. The rest of our album is comprised of several deeply personal elements including a voyage of sounds influenced by an Indian classical chant in ‘Byzance’, while the main “icy” synth ostinato in ‘Oslo’ was inspired by the typical snowy winter’s day of Norway during a visit to Stan’s brother. We’ve also enjoyed sampling voices, including an interview with Idris Elba in ‘Hackney Boy’ as well as an interview with Dizzie Rascal and others in ‘Headlines’.”

Roots’ features on the Spotify playlist HOUSE_GROUND.fm

Odyssey LP Tracklist

1. Hollow Fields

2. Oslo

3. You Got Together

4. Roots

5. Manifest

6. Hackney Boy

7. Follies

8. Headlines

9. Byzance

10. Rival

11. Bhairavi

12. Sturm Und Drang

13. Outro

Follow Jaffna:


Facebook Comments Box
cool good eh love2 cute confused notgood numb disgusting fail